Windows Hello and Privacy

Windows Hello is a new way to sign in to your devices, apps, online services, and networks. It’s more secure than using a password, because it uses "biometric authentication"—you sign in with your face, iris, or fingerprint (or a PIN).

Even if your Windows 10 device can use Windows Hello, you don’t have to. If it’s the right choice for you, you can rest assured that the info that identifies your face, iris, or fingerprint never leaves your device. Windows never stores pictures or images of your face, iris, or fingerprint on your device or anywhere else.

What data is collected, and why

When you set up Windows Hello, it takes the data from the face or iris sensor or fingerprint reader and creates a data representation—not an image; it’s more like a graph—that is then encrypted before it’s stored your device.

To help us keep things working properly, to help detect and prevent fraud, and to continue improving Windows Hello, we collect info about how people use Windows Hello. For example, info about whether people sign in with their face, iris, fingerprint, or PIN, the number of times they use it, and whether it works or not is all valuable information that helps us build a better product. This data is stripped of any information that could be used to specifically identify you, and it's encrypted before it's transmitted to Microsoft.

How to control Windows Hello

To turn on Windows Hello, go to Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options, and select Windows Hello. If you don’t see Windows Hello in Sign-in options, then it may not be available for your device.

To turn it off, go to Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options, and turn off Automatically unlock the screen if we recognize you.

To remove identification data, go to Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options. Under Windows Hello, select Remove.