In Windows 10, having a camera as part of your device or system lets you make Skype video calls, take pictures, etc. Many apps and services request and use the camera, and Windows settings give you control over which apps can use your camera.
Some people worry about unknown apps, organizations, or malware using their camera. Whenever your camera is used, you should be in charge. That’s why you’re always told when your camera is turned on:
We also provide settings to keep you in control, described below.
Camera controls might be turned off already if you’re using a device assigned to you by your workplace or if you’ve added a work account to your personal device. If that’s the case, you’ll see Some settings are managed by your organization at the top of the Camera settings page.
Even if you turn the camera off for each app under Choose apps that can use your camera, some of the listed apps might still be able to open the camera to let you take pictures or videos. But the camera won’t capture images or video unless you explicitly select the Photo or Video button.
If you turn on Windows Hello, it will use your camera to sign you in even if Let apps use my camera is turned off. If Windows Hello is turned off, it can’t access your camera. (Windows Hello, part of Windows 10, is a new way to sign in to your devices, apps, online services, and networks.)
Classic Windows applications won’t appear in your Choose apps that can use your camera list and are not affected by the Let apps use my camera setting. To allow or block Classic Windows applications, use the settings in those applications.
How can you tell if an app is a Classic Windows application? You’d usually install one by downloading it from the Internet or with some type of media (such as a CD, DVD, or USB storage device). You’d launch one using an .EXE or .DLL file. They're typically desktop apps (which run on your device) rather than web-based apps (which run in the cloud). You can also find Classic Windows applications in the Windows Store.